January 27, 2022

BOOK TOUR: Hide and Go Beak (The Great Mathmechicken 1) by Nancy Krulik, illustrated by Charlie Adler

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the HIDE & GO BEAK by Nancy Krulik & Charlie Adler Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

About The Book:

Title: HIDE & GO BEAK (The Great Mathemachicken 1)

Author: Nancy Krulik, Charlie Adler (Illustrator)

Pub. Date: January 18, 2022

Publisher: Pixel+Ink

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Pages: 96

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org

A new young chapter book series about a chicken who loves math, science, and learning new things--by New York Times bestselling author Nancy Krulik for fans of Unlimited Squirrel and Bumble and Bee.

Chirpy is a young chicken stuck in the family coop. But she's not like the other chickens who just sit around peck peck pecking all day. She's intrigued by the children who come home from a place called school. They always look so happy! (Well, most days.)

So Chirpy sneaks onto the bus one morning, hides in the classroom . . . and discovers a true love of math. When she shares what she's learned with the other chickens, they think she's one kernel short of a cob.

Even so, Chirpy is determined to find a formula for fowl success by pecking away. But when a hungry fox tries to attack the coop, can she find the equation for a simple solution?

With lively two-color art throughout and a fun hands-on simple machine activity, this eggs-ellent hilarious young chapter book series starter is a Grade-A pick for emerging readers to get them eggs-ited about science and math.

Reviews:

"This STEM series debut for newly independent readers provides a light but engaging look at simple machines."—School Library Journal

"A smart, sprightly chapter book series starter. . . . Short, dialogue-driven paragraphs by Krulik (the Princess Pulverizer series) are peppered with 'eggs-tra' humor and chicken wordplay . . . while Alder’s (Doggo and Pupper) cartoon spot illustrations, rendered in tones of yellow, gray, and black, provide plenty of visual characterization"Publishers Weekly

 

REVIEW of Hide and Go Beak (The Great Mathmechicken 1) by Nancy Krulik and Charlie Adler
Rating: 5 Stars
Release Date: January 18, 2022
Format: eARC
Publisher: Pixel+Ink

Hide and Go Beak by Nancy Krulik and Charlie Adler is the book I wish I had when I was in elementary school. A word that I’ve recently learned is edutainment, which is where something entertaining has an educational aspect. This book embodies all that and more - I think more children will be reached as a result because it’s entertaining and doesn’t feel like a textbook. 


The creators did a great job blending science, math, and humor in this book. I’m well past the intended audience age in my twenties, but I was still very entertained and amused by the read. I think this would be a great book to read aloud or have young readers practice their reading with. 


Thank you to the author and illustrator, the publisher at Pixel+Ink, Edelweiss, and Jaime at Rockstar Book Tours for allowing me to read an early copy of the book as part of my participation in the tour. I appreciate the opportunity immensely. Please note - I voluntarily read and reviewed Hide and Go Beak. All opinions are my own and not influenced in any way.

About Nancy Krulik:


NANCY KRULIK is the international bestselling author of more than two hundred books for children. Her series, including Katie Kazoo, Switcheroo; George Brown, Class Clown; Magic Bone; Princess Pulverizer; and Ms. Frogbottom’s Field Trips, are beloved around the world. She lives in New York City.

 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon |BookBub

 




About Charlie Adler:

CHARLIE ALDER has written and illustrated many books for children, including Daredevil Duck and Chicken Break! When not drawing chickens, Charlie can be found in her studio drinking coffee, arranging her crayons, and inventing more accidental animal heroes. She lives in Devon, England.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 




Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a Finished Copy of HIDE & GO BEAK, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/17/2022

Mythical Books

Excerpt/IG Post

1/17/2022

#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog

Excerpt

1/18/2022

YA Books Central

Excerpt

1/18/2022

Two Chicks on Books

Excerpt

1/19/2022

The Phantom Paragrapher

Excerpt

1/19/2022

Nonbinary Knight Reads

Review/IG Post

1/20/2022

Bookhounds YA

Review

1/20/2022

Rajiv's Reviews

Review/IG Post

1/21/2022

One More Exclamation

Review/IG Post

1/21/2022

Nerdophiles

Review

Week Two:

1/24/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

1/24/2022

Locks, Hooks and Books

Review

1/25/2022

Pick a good book

Review

1/25/2022

@curlygrannylovestoread

Review/IG Post

1/26/2022

For the Love of KidLit

Excerpt

1/26/2022

perusewithcoffee

Review

1/27/2022

Coffee and Wander Book Reviews

Review/IG Post

1/27/2022

Eye-Rolling Demigod's Book Blog

Review/IG Post

1/28/2022

two Points of interest

Review

1/28/2022

@jypsylynn

Review/IG Post


No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear your thoughts! Post your comments here.

Be sure to check back again later, as I do make an effort to reply to comments.