September 28, 2021

ARC REVIEW: Decisions We Make After Midnight (Decisions in Durham Book 1) by Rachel Higginson

Decisions We Make After Midnight (Decisions in Durham Book 1) by Rachel Higginson
Rating: 4 Stars
Release Date: September 28, 2021
Format: eARC
Publisher: Reckless Siren Publishing

*Please note - this post contains affiliate links from which we may earn a commission (at no additional cost to you) if you make a purchase

“But genuinely loving each other at a soul-deep level also meant fighting for each other, battling through hard times, and choosing each other time and time again - even when we didn’t like each other.”

I was first introduced to Rachel Higginson’s books through her Star-Crossed series and her Starbright series, both of which are fantasy in genre. Those books set a high expectation for me when it comes to anything she writes. My first contemporary romance read by Ms. Higginson, Decisions We Make After Midnight, did not disappoint. 

On paper, it looks like Lola Ellis, or “Lo” has it all. Good education, successful career, engaged to her long time boyfriend Owen. In real life, however, things are not that simple. Time visiting her best friend in Durham, NC quickly turns into an escape from all the expectations awaiting her in Florida and she finds herself working in the neighborhood bar owned by the English siblings. 

Will is an amazing love interest. While our first impressions of him paint him as a grumpy, persnickety bartender he really has a heart of gold under all that gruff. His perspective on how alcohol should be enjoyed really made me think about my own perspectives. Ms. Higginson's incorporation of the family drama into Will and Lola's relationship was really interesting (and important). When you're in a relationship with someone, their family usually comes as part of the package deal. 

If you are a fan of emotion-filled, fun contemporary romance reads with some spiciness and rom-com elements thrown in then I highly recommend you pick up the first book in the Decisions in Durham series today. I don’t, however, recommend you start the book right before you go to bed though, because if you are anything like me once you start this book you won’t want to stop.

I can’t wait to read more books in the series! I hope Eliza or Ada get featured next. Ms. Higginson brought up possible love interests for them in this book so I'm curious to see who they might end up with. 

Thank you to the author for providing me with an early copy of this book! I appreciate the opportunity. 

About the Author

Rachel Higginson is the author of The Opposite of You, The Five Stages of Falling in Love and The Star-Crossed Series, plus about a bajillion more books. Just kidding. But seriously, she’s written a lot of them. From zombies to chefs to trailer parks, she loves to challenge herself in new genres and explore new worlds.

She met her husband when she was eight-years-old and fell in love instantly. Just kidding again, because that would be weird. Although, they have been friends nearly their whole lives, they didn’t start dating until high school. Now they have five kiddos together and nearly every episode of The Office memorized. They love their crazy, chaotic, overwhelming life.

Most days you can find Rachel running twenty minutes behind schedule, coffee in hand, an audio book playing in her ear and an eBook open on her phone. One day, life will settle down and she’ll get places on time. Until then, she’s planning to enjoy every second of the madness that is raising kids, doing life and writing books.

Check out my reviews of other books by Rachel Higginson

Check out the author's website

Check out the author's Instagram

Check out the author's Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear your thoughts! Post your comments here.

Be sure to check back again later, as I do make an effort to reply to comments.