September 12, 2021

Blazewrath Games (Blazewrath Games #1) by Amparo Ortiz

Blazewrath Games (Blazewrath Games #1) by Amparo Ortiz

Rating: 4 Stars

Release Date: October 6, 2020

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Page Street Kids


Check out the book on Bookshop.org

Check out the book on Libro.fm


Blazewrath Games is perfect for fans of Eragon, How to Train Your Dragon, and/or Dragon Booster (an old cartoon for those who are not familiar). I absolutely had to pick this book up when I read the synopsis, and it was definitely worth the read. Dragons and magic plus a tournament that's reminiscent of Quidditch and the Olympics, what's not to love?


Lana, the main character, has dreamed of playing in the Blazewrath Games and representing her home country of Puerto Rico for most of her life. When she is finally offered the chance to do so, things are not as simple as she might have imagined and she encounters multiple obstacles. Blazewrath Games features family and friendship at its heart, and I love that. Team Puerto Rico really found a family and lifelong friends with each other, and it was beautiful to read. While I enjoy a good romance story, it was refreshing to have a YA fantasy read that didn't focus on that.


Overall, a great read, and I'm looking forward to the release of Dragonblood Ring in October for the continuation of the story.


CONTENT WARNINGS: Violence, murder, passing mentions of queerphobia/anti-gay sentiment


About the Author


Amparo Ortiz was born in San Juan, Puerto Rico, and currently lives on the island’s northeastern coast. Her short story comic, “What Remains in The Dark,” appears in the Eisner Award-winning anthology Puerto Rico Strong (Lion Forge, 2018), and SAVING CHUPIE, her middle grade graphic novel, comes out with HarperCollins in Winter 2022. She holds an M.A. in English and a B.A. in Psychology from the UPR’s Río Piedras campus. When she’s not teaching ESL to her college students, she’s teaching herself Korean, devouring as much young adult fiction as she can, and writing about Latinx characters in worlds both contemporary and fantastical.


Connect with the author on Instagram

Connect with the author on Twitter


 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear your thoughts! Post your comments here.

Be sure to check back again later, as I do make an effort to reply to comments.