October 20, 2021

RELEASE BLITZ: House of Shadows (Royal Houses Book 2) by K.A. Linde

Release Date: October 19


USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde returns to the Royal Houses series with House of Shadows: the story of Kerrigan Argon, a half-Fae, half-human as she seeks her place in an unforgiving world filled with magic, mayhem, and romance. Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Holly Black, and V.E. Schwab.

Kerrigan Argon, a half-human, half-Fae, has joined the Dragon Society against almost everyone’s wishes.

A year of training is required with her dragon.

First she must travel with the dark Fae prince, Fordham Ollivier, back to his home in the House of Shadows. Nothing but slavery and death has ever awaited a half-Fae in their halls.

But something is wrong within their wicked world. A thousand year old spell is weakening. Cracks forming in the foundation. And Kerrigan may just be their ruin or their salvation.

Grab Your Copy Here:
Amazon | Nook | Apple | Kobo | Google Play 


Meet K.A. Linde
K.A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of the Avoiding Series, Wrights, and more than thirty other novels. 

She has a Masters degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. 

She loves reading fantasy novels, binge-watching Supernatural, traveling, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super-adorable puppies.
Visit her online at FacebookTwitter, and Instagram @authorkalinde.
Join her newsletter for exclusive content, free books, and giveaways every month.

Hosted By:

 

REVIEW: House of Shadows (Royal Houses Series Book 2) by K.A. Linde
Rating: 4 Stars
Release Date: October 19, 2021
Format: eARC
Publisher: K.A. Linde Inc. 

Before reading further, please be aware! While this review is free of any spoilers for House of Shadows, there might be minor spoilers for House of Dragons. Proceed at your own risk. 


House of Shadows by K.A. Linde is the second book in the Royal Houses series and begins where House of Dragons ended. Kerrigan Argon, our scrappy half-fae half-human heroine has just won the Tournament of Dragons against all odds and is slated to begin her training as a dragon rider. She heads out for the mysterious House of Shadows with Prince Fordham, but things are not as easy there as she might have hoped. Kerrigan must deal with all the trials that come with the mysterious House of Shadows and its members, while also making sure she passes her dragon rider training to become a full member of the society and contending with the rampant anti-halfling sentiment. So many challenges to deal with, but Kerrigan has my vote for being up to the task.  


I am a major fan of the young adult fantasy genre, and as far as I’m concerned every story improves with the inclusion of a dragon. I love the magic system in this book and how the tribal system/houses work. The power balance between the different houses is definitely interesting. I would have loved to see more of the ancient, ginormous dragons like Gelryn the Destroyer make an appearance. Don’t get me wrong - I’m very much a fan of all the dragons you do get to see due to the society dragon rider training. I just wish we got to see the older, elder dragons more (a lot of the dragons that make appearances are very young by dragon standards). 


In the first book, the romance between Fordham and Kerrigan was definitely “slow burn”. Things do move forward in this book (yay for scenes with a bit of spiciness) but not enough for my romance-loving heart. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping that things work out for them in the third book because I absolutely adore Fordham (total book boyfriend material). Fordham and Kerrigan deserve to be together after everything that’s happened over the course of the two books. I’m also really hoping that things work out between Darby and Clover because as happy as I am that Darby has her new house and tribe and all, they deserve to be happy too.  


I recommend this book to fans of the young adult fantasy genre who love magic, dragons, and action-packed stories. While there are some intimate scenes, nothing’s graphic in description (heavy makeout scenes and implications of what’s going on between two characters). House of Shadows is the second book in the Royal Houses series, and I do recommend reading them in order (otherwise some of the events and references in House of Shadows will not make sense). 


Thank you to the author and Wildfire Marketing Solutions for allowing me the opportunity to read the book early. I appreciate it immensely. I’m eagerly awaiting news of when the third book in the series, House of Curses will release in 2022. As a note, I voluntarily read and reviewed an early copy of House of Shadows; this does not affect my opinion of the book or the context of my review. 




No comments:

Post a Comment

I would love to hear your thoughts! Post your comments here.

Be sure to check back again later, as I do make an effort to reply to comments.